Previous years prizewinners
W B Yeats Poetry Prize for Australia

Entries close
March 31  2023

First Prize
$1000. 00

Award certificates

2023 Judges

Philip Mead
was inaugural Chair of Australian Literature at the University of Western Australia (2009-2018). He is currently Emeritus Professor, University of Western Australia, and Honorary Professorial Fellow in the Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne. In 2018 Philip published Antipodal Shakespeare: Remembering and Forgetting in Britain, Australia and New Zealand, 1916-2016 (with Gordon McMullan. London: Arden/Bloomsbury); The Social Work of Narrative: human rights and the cultural imaginary (ed. with Gareth Griffiths. Hannover: Ibidem/Columbia University Press); and The Literature of Tasmania (AustLit Resource. St Lucia: University of Queensland).

Denise O'Hagan
Born and raised in Italy, Denise lived in the UK before emigrating to Sydney, Australia.

After completing a Masters in Bibliography and Textual Criticism at Leeds University, she worked as an editor with various publishing houses including Collins, Heinemann and Routledge in London, and Horwitz Educational and Cambridge University Press in Sydney, where she was also consulting editor with the State Library of NSW.

She set up her own imprint Black Quill Press in 2015 to publish her late mother’s books: Jerome & His Women (2015), shortlisted for the Institute of Professional Editors’ Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award (the ‘Rosie’), and a second revised edition of A Roman Death (2017), originally published by Macmillan. She also edited and published Chinese Whispers: In Search of Ivy (2018) by Alison Choy Flannigan; her own writing guide for authors, the Mini Style Guide (2019); and co-edited and published poetry anthology Messages from the Embers: From Devastation to Hope (2020). She now works with independent authors, helping shape and edit their work. You can read her testimonials here.

Her poetry is published widely in Australia and internationally. Recipient of the Dalkey Poetry Prize, she has also been shortlisted in various awards including the Australian Catholic University Poetry Prize, the Robert Graves Poetry Prize (UK), the Plough Writing Prize (UK) and the Proverse International Poetry Prize (Hong Kong). She was Poetry Editor for Australia/New Zealand for Irish literary journal The Blue Nib until 2020. Her poetry collections include The Beating Heart (Ginninderra Press 2020), shortlisted for the Society of Women Writers NSW Book Awards 2022, and Anamnesis (Recent Work Press 2022).You can read some of her published poetry here.

By mail to:
W B Yeats Poetry Prize
6 Samuel Close
Berwick VIC 3806
Email to:

Entry fee(s)
First (or single) entry  $11. 00
susbsequent entries $ 3. 00 per poem.

Direct to
W B Yeats Poetry Prize for Australia
Bendigo Bank
BSB 633 108
Account No. 1445 71882
By cheque or Australia Post Money Order
or Paypal